Agent of Change

Agent of Change Award

Every two years since 2002, Medina County Branch of the American Association of University Women has recognized outstanding women who have made significant contributions to our community and been “ agents for positive change” on behalf of women and/or children.



The recipient of this award will be a woman who is or has been a resident of Medina County and who has:

  • Consistently and effectively used resources, talents and influence to help women and/or children to achieve their potential
  • Accomplished positive change for women and/or children locally, statewide or beyond, or
  • Been a community volunteer or a professional whose achievements went beyond the requirements of the position.

Candidates could include a long-time volunteer who has initiated programming to impact women/children, a member of a service organization or business, or an individual who has served on a state or national board and worked to accomplish change.


To submit the name of a candidate for the award, the nominator should describe in 200 words or less how the person fulfills the above Agent of Change criteria. Names and contact information for at least two personal references for the candidate are also required.

Previous recipients of the Agent of Change Award include:

No award was given in 2014 as we directed our attention to the Medina County Branch AAUW 50th Year celebration.

Dianne DePasquale Hagerty, Executive Director and Innovator of Medina Creative Housing, 2012.

Susan Rooy Haar, founder of the Salvation Army Women’s Auxiliary, 2010

Karen Glass, founder of the Children’s Center and Suzanne LeSure, mental health counselor, co-recipients 2008

Katie Horn, Jane Lang and Gwen Rivers, co-founders of Medina County Women’s Endowment Fund and co-recipients in 2006

Michelle Powell, founder of “Let’s Make a Difference” program, 2004

Patricia Dempsey, for contributions in children’s theater and women’s health and welfare, 2002.