AAUW’s Vision Statement:

“AAUW empowers all women and girls to reach their highest potential.”

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) is a nationwide network of more than 170,000 members and supporters, 1,000 local branches, and 800 college/university institution partners. For over 130 years, AAUW members have examined and taken positions on the fundamental issues of the day — educational, social, economic, and political. Our commitment to our mission is reflected in all aspects of our work.

AAUW’s Mission
AAUW advances gender equity for women and girls through research, education and advocacy,

AAUW’s Vision
Equity for all.

AAUW Values
Non-partisan. Fact based. Integrity. Inclusion and Intersectionality.

AAUW’s Diversity Statement
In principle and practice, AAUW values and seeks a diverse membership. There shall be no barriers to full participation in this organization on the basis of gender, race, creed, age, sexual orientation, national origin, disability or class.

AAUW’s Focus
Economic Security

Medina County Branch

The Medina Branch was founded in 1964 by a group of women dedicated to declaring their common interests in encouraging educational activities, cultural activities and personal growth. They were leaders in our community and instrumental in developing long-standing institutions in Medina County, including the Medina Arts Council, the Women of Distinction Awards, home tours, candidates’ nights, a scholarship fund for non-traditional women students, an annual used book sale, and the Sister-to-Sister Conference for Girls. We proudly celebrated our 55th year at our annual meeting and dinner, June, 2019. Want to know more? Don’t hesitate to contact us at our email, aauwmedinaoh@gmail.com. We would love to hear from you!

2019-2020 Medina County Branch Officers/ Chairpersons

President Kimberly Oliver
Vice President for Program Development Joyce Rynearson
Co-Vice Presidents for Membership Bernice Goertzen
Secretary Kim Ortiz
Finance Officer Pieri Levandofsky
Agent of Change
AAUW Funds Alanna Arnold
BeWISE Camp Jeri Penn
Book Discussion Group Donna Hamilton
Book Sale, Chair and Co-Chair Carol Thombs & Alanna Arnold
By-laws Alanna Arnold
Communications/ Newsletter Pieri Levandofsky & Anne Gates
Diversity & Culture Allison Lee
Environmental Interest Group Carol Thombs
Historian Theresa Laffey

Human Trafficking Coalition

Jeri Penn

Carol Thombs

Non-Traditional Scholarships

Nominating Committee

Jill Morton


Public Information
Public Policy
Sister to Sister Pieri Levandofsky & Alanna Arnold
Website Mary Baker
 Immediate Past President Alanna Arnold  
Liaison, Akron Community Fund Gloria Brown
Liaison, Battered Women’s Shelter Jill Morton