Nontraditional Women Student’s Scholarship

The Medina County Branch of the American Association of University Women awards two $1000 scholarships to “non-traditional” women undergraduate students who are attending an accredited college or university. Applicants must be residents of Medina County and at least 25 years of age. Previous winners are eligible.

A “non-traditional” student is a woman who is returning to college to finish an undergraduate degree, or a woman who has delayed entering college for several years after completing high school or earning a GED.

Applications for the 2014 awards closed APRIL 10.  The scholarships are awarded on the basis of financial need, academic achievement, and clarity of stated goals and objectives. Awards will be announced in May.

For information or applications, contact Betty Lynham, Scholarship Committee Chair. Give telephone number and e-mail address.


Local scholarship recipients for the 2013-2014 academic year are Laurie Beal, of Wadsworth, on the right, and Carla Kaczmarski, of Brunswick, on left.




Recipients for the 2012 scholarships were Nicole Dannery, of Seville, and Megann Welsh, of Brunswick.

Nicole Dannery



Megann Welsh



“BeWISE” Campership

Hey, girl! Are you a sixth or seventh grader interested in a fun week at a university in Ohio with girls your own age exploring science, math and environmental aspects of life around you? Would you like to try some hands-on experiments and experiences using a microscope, find ways to “reduce, reuse and recycle”, learn how to save money, earn interest and shop with your own credit card? This is all part of the curriculum at the BeWISE Camp – Where Girls Succeed!

Medina Branch AAUW sponsors two camperships each year to be awarded to applicants from Medina County for the camp, held at Denison University, Granville, OH, in mid-June. The camp registration is limited to 130 residents for the 6-day session.

Applications for this year’s camp session, June 15-20, are being accepted directly through the BeWISE website. However, applications for Medina campership awards for 2014 are now closed. Prospective campers must submit two teacher recommendations and an application form. In addition, each student must write an essay focused on “Why it is important for girls to become successful scientists and/or mathematicians” and “How attending the BeWISE Camp will help me reach my goals in science and/or math.”

To apply, see guidance counselors at the local middle schools or visit for a registration form. Applicants for Medina Branch AAUW camperships should submit that form, the two teacher recommendations and the essay to Ms. Heidi Weber, AAUW Chairperson, by February 21. Selection of recipients will be announced February 28.          Campership applications for 2014 are now closed.

Contact Weber at 330.990.0566 or for further information on the application process.

Last year’s winners were Katie Lydon, Claggett Middle School, and Meagan Rain, Highland Middle School.

BeWISE Camp is designed to develop interest, excitement and self-confidence in young women, whether or not they decide to pursue courses and careers in the STEM courses –science, technology, engineering and math.

Learn more about BeWISE camp at their website: